Privatized Airports?

Working on my ‘John Oxendine and Liberty’ posts, one of his key issues has been Transportation, and I genuinely expect this to be the case with nearly any Governor candidate, as it is a key issue throughout the state.

I’ve proposed some very non-conventional ideas in that realm in those posts, but now there is proof that they can, in fact, become reality.

According to this post in Cato At Liberty, the blog of the Cato Institute, a private airport in Branson, Mo is scheduled to begin flights on May 11. This airport is genuinely private, with zero government funds used.

And while several airports internationally have been privatized, including airports in Athens, Rome, London, Sydney, and Vienna, this will be the first US airport to be built completely at private expense.

I may very well have to fly to Branson now, just to support this endeavor.

A Libertarian’s Take On Earth Day

Earth Day. The day we celebrate the Earth and how to keep her clean. I’m odd. Unlike a lot of Libertarians, I consider myself an environmentalist. I’m not alone either. Where Libertarian environmentalists diverge from other environmentalists is how we seek to accomplish that goal. Since our overall political goal is the end of regulations on the whole, many can’t fathom how we can be for the Earth and against regulation at the same time. Well, don’t try to fathom any more. I’m going to explain it to you. Continue reading

Musings on the 2nd District Candidates

I met with the announced Republican candidate, Lee Ferrell, last night. I had his ear for about two hours over supper. This man is a plethora of information on Veterans Affairs. Our military should be supported and I agree that is a noble cause, but what about the other issues? I asked him about school vouchers, one of the topics from his web site. He couldn’t give me the details on his plan. In an effort to deflect the question, he said, “But I’ll tell you one thing. If we don’t win the current war there will be no need to improve the education system.” He later confessed that farming and education are his weak points. I told him that Veterans Affairs is a great cause, but we only have two bases in the district. Other than those bases and others that have served, that is not the main concern of the constituents.
[Continue Reading]

Ain’t It Funny?

Yesterday, the Albany Herald ran this article about State Representative Carol Fullerton and her trials and tribulations with the potential loss of her position on the Albany Water, Gas & Light Commission.  The reason is that she has three consecutive absences from Commission meetings.  This is not in dispute.  However, three absences is only grounds for dismissal if they’re unexcused.  Mrs. Fullerton’s reason for being absent for the last three WG&L Commission meetings?  Oh yeah, she was in the General Assembly working on legislation for the entire State of Georgia.

What’s funny is how two of the ring leaders of this seem to be Mayor Willie Adams and Comissioner Tommy Postell.  After all, their opposition to Consolidation is documented already.  They allege that it’s racially motivated and, of course, I responded here.  Mrs. Fullerton supported the bill allowing us to vote. Continue reading

Changes Coming to SWGA Politics

You may have noticed that we’ve changed the look of SWGA Politics. This is due to some limitations of the previous look that I wasn’t aware of – and didn’t need to be aware of – when I first started this blog. As we’ve grown, we’ve come to need a few more things, among them extra link space and the ability for the article pages themselves to show who wrote that article.

These are actually temporary changes, as an even more major change is in the works, but I’ll announce that closer to when we actually implement it.

Hopefully, you will find these changes easier to navigate and enjoy. As always, feel free to talk to us about anything via the comments here or swgapolitics@gmail.com.

Also, I can never tell you enough how grateful I am that you chose to visit with us here, and that is particularly true of those of you who are regular readers. From the bottom of my heart, thank you.

Jeff

Ken Hodges Running for Attorney General

Former Dougherty County District Attorney Ken Hodges will announce in just a few hours that he is running for Attorney General, the seat being vacated by his close personal friend Thurbert Baker due to Baker’s run for Governor.

For the news I saw and my reaction to when Mr. Hodges first announced the possibility, see this WALB article or this earlier post on SWGA Politics, ‘Ken Hodges for AG? Let’s Hope Not