State Senate Bills I Find Interesting (SB122-SB131)

Conclusions:

SB122: OPPOSE
SB123: OPPOSE
SB124: SUPPORT
SB125: OPPOSE
SB126: OPPOSE
SB127: SUPPORT
SB128: OPPOSE
SB129: OPPOSE
SB130: OPPOSE
SB131: OPPOSE

SB122 would rename the current Georgia Retiree Health Benefit Fund to the Georgia State Retiree Health Benefit Fund and create the Georgia School Retiree Health Benefit Fund. I don’t see any real need in this, though there isn’t anything else objectionable in the bill either. Because I see no real need to make the change, I’m going to OPPOSE until someone explains why the change is needed, and even then I may disagree with them and still OPPOSE.

SB122: OPPOSE

SB123 is another insurance matter, which as we all know isn’t exactly my strong point. And in this case, I don’t even understand very much of the summary. But what I did pick up on is that it would force ‘pharmacy benefits managers’ to be regulated and licensed by the Commissioner of Insurance. Since I OPPOSE any government intervention that doesn’t have a solid basis in the Constitution, I OPPOSE this measure on the grounds that it adds yet another regulatory burden on business and thus consumers.

SB123: OPPOSE

SB124 would force documents surrendered via a Freedom of Information Act request to have your SSN removed. It would also remove the exceptions relating to news media FOIA requests. Because it enhances privacy, at least in disclosed documents, I SUPPORT this bill.

SB124: SUPPORT

SB125 is for once a bill that is short and to the point, even though it deals with insurance. This one would require any insurance company doing business in the state of Georgia to state how much tax is being paid by you on your premium. While this is a good thing in general for insurance companies to do, I do not believe government should be requiring them to do so. I believe this is something you as a consumer should demand and if you don’t, government should stay out as well. Because of this, I OPPOSE this bill.

SB125: OPPOSE

SB126 would prohibit anyone who was discharged from the military with either a) a dishonorable discharge or b) a bad conduct discharge that included more than 30 days jail time from running for office OR serving as any form of party officer or poll officer, election registrar, or election superintendent. Honestly, I was planning on OPPOSing this bill even when I thought it just applied to running for office. The additional things that it bars people from doing only make my case stronger. Even though the bill allows such people to hold these offices after a decade has passed from the completion of their sentence – provided they haven’t been convicted of a felony involving ‘moral turpitude’ since then – it still unnecessarily bars people from being active in the political arena. Because it does so, I must OPPOSE this measure.

SB126: OPPOSE

SB127 would force courts that don’t pay appropriate funds over to the Georgia Superior Court Clerks’ Cooperative Authority to pay a late fee of 5% of the funds owed. It would also withhold state administered loans, grants, and financial assistance from courts who knowingly fail to file certain reports. Because it enhances accountability of at least part of government, I SUPPORT this measure.

SB127: SUPPORT

SB128 would force all boat trailers, utility trailers, and non-commercial livestock/cattle trailers to have tags – meaning their owners would have to pay the appropriate fees. Because this is essentially a tax increase, I OPPOSE this measure.

SB128: OPPOSE

SB129 deals with retirement systems and any investment authority they have. This is also one of those areas that I honestly know nothing about, and therefore I will OPPOSE this bill on the grounds that no change is better than bad change, and when uninformed about a particular issue it is best to let the issue remain as it is until better information is available. Once again, if someone can explain the relevant issues to me and this bill seems like a good one, I will be perfectly happy to change my position in light of the enhanced knowledge. Until that time though, I must OPPOSE.

SB129: OPPOSE

SB130 sets up a legal framework for using electronic means to enter into lease-purchase contracts. Although adjudication of contract disputes is in fact a proper role of government, setting terms of private contract is not. Because this measure sets some terms of the contract as far as what is permissible and what is not, I must OPPOSE this bill.

SB130: OPPOSE

SB131 is cosponsored by SWGA’s Sen. John Crosby (R-Americus) and deals with trust law. Again, I know nothing about trusts (in the legal sense, that is). Because of this, I will OPPOSE this measure until someone explains it to me and even then I may have sufficient objections to the substance of the bill to warrant continued opposition. For now, my reason for opposition is simply that in matters where nothing is known, the status quo is usually the better option.

SB131: OPPOSE

One Response

  1. […] OPPOSE SB123: OPPOSE SB124: SUPPORT SB125: OPPOSE SB126: OPPOSE SB127: SUPPORT SB128: OPPOSE SB129: OPPOSE […]

Leave a Reply

