Streamlining the Budget

Since City Manager unveiled his new budget yesterday, I thought I’d post a few suggestions on how to streamline that budget so that property taxes won’t have to be increased, and my Libertarian sensibilities won’t be offended any further with all the extras that the city puts out that government has no place involved in. Early today, I made a suggestion about the Flint Riverquarium, or as I call it, The Albatross (TM). The idea of privatization can work in other ways as well. Continue reading

The Good, The Bad, and The City Budget

Albany City Manager Alfred Lott is feeling pretty proud of himself right now. After all, he’s managed to craft a budget that doesn’t require laying off any city employees. He also does a few really good things as far as I’m concerned. He cut funding for the South Georgia Wildcats, fireworks shows, and the city’s office for Small and Disadvantaged Businesses. As I personally believe all private businesses need to be 100% privately funded and managed, I have no problem with any of this. But, as they say in infomercials, there’s more. Continue reading